EXO (엑소) is a boygroup under SM Entertainment consisting of 12 members, formed in 2012. The band is divided into two groups: Exo K and Exo M. Exo K promotes in Korea while Exo M in China.

In January 2011, producer Lee SooMan of S.M. Entertainment announced his plans to debut a new boy band in March or April 2011.Temporarily named M1, the group appeared to have consisted of only seven members when a photo of them in a dance studio leaked online.In May 2011, SooMan spoke about the group in a business seminar held in Stanford University. In the presentation, he explained his strategy of separating the group into two subgroups, M1 and M2, and have them promote the same music in both Korea and China, performing the songs in both Korean and Mandarin. Lee SooMan planned to launch the group in May 2011, but their debut was delayed and news concerning the group did not surface until October 2011, when Lee SooMan briefly discussed about the group’s concept plans in an interview with The Chosun Ilbo.


In December 2011, the group finalized their name to EXO, with the names Exo-K for the Korea subgroup and Exo-M for the China subgroup. The twelve members were introduced through twenty-three different teaser trailers released from December 2011 to February 2012. Debuted their first public performance at the SBS Gayo Daejun on December 29, 2011.

Exo-K and Exo-M released their debut single “Mama” on April 8. On April 8 made their debut performance on South Korea’s music program “The Music Trend”, while Exo-M performed at China’s 12th Yinyue Fengyun Bang Awards that same day. One day after release, “Mama” reached number one on various Chinese online retailers and music charts. Exo-M’s album peaked at number two on China’s Sina Album Chart, number five on South Korea’s Gaon Album Chart, and debuted at number twelve on the Billboard World Albums Chart, while Exo-K’s album peaked at number one on the Gaon Album Chart and debuted at number eight on the Billboard World Albums Chart. Exo-M’s “Mama” music video peaked at number one on Chinese streaming websites, and Exo-K’s version reached to number seven on YouTube’s Global Chart.

Member List

9504571_origEXO K

  • Kim Joonmyun (Suho)
  • Byun Baekhyun
  • Park Chanyeol
  • Do Kyungsoo (D.O.)
  • Kim Jongin (Kai)
  • Oh Sehun


9922659_origEXO M

  • Kim Minseok (Xiumin)
  • Lu Han
  • Wu Fan (Kris)
  • Zhang Yixing (Lay)
  • Kim Jongdae (Chen)
  • Huang Zitao (Tao)

3 thoughts on “EXO

  1. Pingback: Xiu Min 씨우민 | Awesomeness of the Princess of Vampires

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s